Skip to content

My fight is great

March 3, 2010

What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight – it’s the size of the fight in the dog.

-Dwight D. Eisenhower

This quote makes me smile. I have to constantly remind myself of this quote and its meaning. I keep it tucked in my wallet at all times. Seriously.

It helps me in hard times, when I lack confidence, when I get a little scared, when I think I’m too tired, or when I’m convinced there’s not enough time (which is often).

I’m a young, aspiring invitation and stationery artist. I love letters and watercolors, but I am just exploring how to make the two live together as art. It takes a lot of time and energy, and I have a full time job (to pay the bills) that takes up 10 hours of my day or more!  It’s discouraging sometimes, but then I remember…
I might be small, young, new, learning, and tired, but I am a fighter. I believe in myself and in my passion, and nothing can beat that…..it’s the size of the fight in the dog.

The size of my fight is great, because it is as big as my dreams….and that is my inspiration for the week.

I am working on my art any chance I get….

Side story- My friend and I were in NYC a few weeks ago and met this lovely couple sitting next to us at dinner. They shared their story, divulging every detail. They had been through many of life’s greatest and worst moments together.  They had been through the lowest of lows together, and it helped me to appreciate the wrinkles life had put upon their face. Something I should do more often. Note to self.

I work on my calligraphy during lunch.  Two new envelopes styles coming soon! They need a little more perfecting….

Dashing Dorothy

Lovely Lois Lynn

xo

PS. I am looking for a local professional photographer, let me know if you (or your friends/family) might be interested.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

