Skip to content

a calligraphy cherry blossom

January 20, 2010

I dream up invitation and stationery designs all the time. In fact, I thought of a new design today while listening to The Finish Line by Snow Patrol…

The earth is warm, next to my ear…

I cant wait to share my next stationery piece. It will be hard to execute, but with some incredible embossing work, I think the stationery will be gorgeous.

As for the cherry blossom tree stationery, see the steps I took below to create a uniquely combined watercolor and calligraphy look. More work and love still needs to go in it, but it is almost there.

This stationery is for a girl who often reminds me of myself. She is driven, passionate and looking for her “calling” in life.

The “good fortune tree” is a perfect fit for Kimberly. Every time she wants to write a note (which she loves to do) she’ll be reminded that good fortune is headed her way.

But she should remember that we have the opportunity to create and make the most of good fortune. Luck is what you make of it… so dream up the biggest dreams you can, and when good fortune is bestowed upon you, take action.

In Seven Pillars of Wisdom, T.E. Lawrence says, “There are dreamers, but not all human beings dream equally. Some are dreamers of the night, who in the dusty recesses of their mind dream and wake in the morning to find it was just vanity.  But the dreamers of the day are dangerous people because they act their dreams into reality with open eyes.”

Become a Dreamer of the Day and watch happiness light up your path and success follow your way.

calligraphy only

layering in watercolor tree...

watercolor and calligraphy together, at last...

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly permalink
    January 20, 2010 2:37 pm

    Allie, this just completely made my morning! You are such an inspiration and I believe in you 100%. I can’t wait to send these to people- because not just will it bring good fortune my way, but it goes further than that… by bringing good fortune to the recipient, too. There is nothing better than the love that goes into a handwritten note, and I’m so very excited to send love and fortune on something so pretty! You’re the best… and I’m more inspired than ever to be a dangerous dreamer. xo

  2. January 20, 2010 4:50 pm

    Very pretty and Very Kimberly!

  3. Julia permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:11 am

    I love this Allie! i think you are going to be great 🙂 i love love love dreamers of the day xo

Leave a Reply

