Skip to content

The most wonderful time of the year…

January 28, 2010

the holidays! Duh.

Christmas is my favorite time of the year. Christmas lights, holiday jingles, gift giving, warm sweaters, hot cider, the cold air, red noses… I love it all. I prepare for Christmas the entire month of December, and then it just flies right by.

I end up missing Christmas for 6 months of the year and eagerly waiting the next one for the following 6 months (and no, I do not keep my decorations up all year).

This year I created some unique, hand made invitations for a holiday party. I was inspired by my 2009 Christmas tree experience. My love for Christmas has not killed my allergy to pine, but this year I decided to try out a real tree. I wanted the whole “tree” experience, from cutting down the tree to decorating it with my very own ornaments. And as you know, when I decide to do something, I go all out. It’s the dreamer in me, I swear. Below is my 2009 13 foot Christmas tree (my holiday invitation inspiration)-

With a 13ft tree as my inspiration, I could have gone big and flashy with an invitation, but I wanted to keep it simple. And it had to have a home-y feel- just like the couple hosting the holiday party.  They’re happy homebodies. They love things that remind them of their families and their childhoods.  They appreciate nature and the outdoors and share a mini obsession with Christmas.

The Christmas tree was a given with the invitation, the idea for a close up of the tree came much later. After 30 or more sketches, I realized a nature loving couple could appreciate the beauty of a Christmas tree branch. Below is the final product-

I thoroughly enjoyed making these invitations and hope I get to make many more.

Today’s inspiration came from a lovely, uplifting blog by Catie.

“Dream big. Dream out loud.
Live your dreams. Find the joy.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:19 am

    The invitations are wonderful!!! I love the whole idea of the simplicity of the tree branch. You continue to amaze me, and thank you for sharing your dream with me!

  2. kimberly permalink
    January 29, 2010 5:08 am

    in the words of jim’s friend jeremy, “these invitations are so nice! like, really fancy and expensive!” gosh, this post just made me nostalgic for christmas… and for the carswell/fouse party (featuring a 13 ft tree, of course)! i’m so proud of how GREAT these turned out – especially for your first project – and glad that I got to share some of the journey with you 🙂

  3. February 5, 2010 3:10 pm

    I LOVED that tree – oh memories of Christmas past… The invitations and party itself were, of course, also fabulous!

Leave a Reply

