Skip to content

Just jump…

February 12, 2010

We’re the most brave when we’re 8 years old…

Your mom yells “Be careful!!” as you run out the door as fast as your 8 year old feet will let you.  Your shoes are untied, hair a mess, and all you have on is a bathing suit.  But who cares? You meet your friends in a sprint to the lake, unconsciously slip off your shoes mid-run, and jump….

No pausing. No analyzing. No time for fear. You just jump. Because it puts a smile on your face.

Somewhere along our journey to adulthood, we let life take that away from us. We let reason, familiarity, caution, practicality, and fear take its place.  The key word here is we.  We let this happen. We allow it.

If you ask a group of 8 year olds, “How many of you can sing, dance, play a sport, or paint..?” every single child will raise their hand. If you ask a group of 25 year olds the same question, almost no one will raise their hand. Did they lose talent through all those years? Did they become unable? No, they let reason, familiarity, caution, practicality, and fear take over. If there ever was a possibility….they closed the door.

I am one of those people. For two years, I let practicality take over. I let fear get in the way. I let reason talk me out of it. Then one day I woke up, and realized I wanted my dreams, my fearlessness, and my ambition back, so I jumped. I was 8 years old again, and anything was possible…even starting my own invitation business from the ground up.

Don’t wait, don’t hesitate, just jump

Mat Kearney sings an amazing song called “Never Be Ready”. You can listen to it on his web site, www.matkearney.com, and as you listen, think of your passion and all the possibilities, and then…….. you know what’s next…..

We’ve got our feet on the wire, talking ’bout flying
Maybe we’re diving in over our heads
Scared of what I’m feeling
Staring at the ceiling here tonight

Come on lay down these arms, all our best defenses
We’re taking our chances here on the run
The fear is an anchor, time is a stranger
Love isn’t borrowed, we aren’t promised tomorrow

We’ll never be ready if we keep waiting
For the perfect time to come
Won’t be steady, we’ll never be ready

Jump.

xo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. iixii permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:05 am

    I just wanted to say hello, I was pleasantly surprised to stumble by your blog on a tag search. Your words, art, and choice of quotes reveal someone who is beautiful and inspiring.

    Cheers!

  2. Hope permalink
    February 12, 2010 7:24 pm

    You are so ready to jump, and anything is possible! Your will, determination, ambition, and spirit will make sure that you land on your feet…every single time. You are so amazing and I know how ready you are for this adventure to take off. It will. You have taken the first of many big steps, just by jumping.

  3. July 2, 2010 8:28 pm

    Wow, love this post! Amen!

Leave a Reply

