Skip to content

We call it luck.

April 29, 2010

As I sat at my desk Monday (my first day at my new job), I thought of how grateful and thankful I am. I feel so lucky to have landed this job. I feel so fortunate to have found my passion and to have started my own business…..and then I paused remembering a lesson I learned a few months ago.

My “moment” reminded me of a note I made in my planner before Christmas last year: you are fortunate, be more grateful. The same week I made that note, in the middle of an episode of Gossip Girl (yes, I watch that show), I learned a remarkable lesson as the mysterious gossip girl herself quoted the first Earl of Beaconsfield–

We make our fortunes, and we call them fate.
-Benjamin Disraeli

Every time I read that quote, I think of all the things I attribute to “fortune” or “luck”. I think back to the path that led me to those fortunes. Many times it is not “luck” that got me there after all.

So, although a little awkward, I am taking this moment to be grateful and to recognize all the work it’s taken me to get where I am today: the tears, the late nights, the long days, the investment, the stress and the tired eyes.

The work is sometimes painful- I am thankful for the strength in my soul.

The dream sometimes seems out of reach- I am thankful for the fighter that lives in my bones.

The process seems never ending- I am thankful for the patience my mind has fostered.

The dream never sleeps- I am thankful for the ambition in my heart that drives me to follow them.

I am thankful for me.

personalized thank you cards- available for purchase (minimum qty. of 50) email: honeybeeinvites@gmail.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hope permalink
    April 30, 2010 2:32 am

    What an absolutely beautiful post! I am so glad that you are thankful for “you”. I know how hard you have worked without ever giving up. You are extraordinary! As always, you are an inspiration to so many people…especially me. Thank you for reminding me of the importance of being “grateful”.

Leave a Reply

