Skip to content

the only one i’ll ever ask…

October 1, 2010

I am back from my amazing trip to the Bahamas with Justin!

This trip was especially awesome because I experienced so many firsts…
I drove a boat, ate fish I caught, sailed in the moonlight, snorkeled on the third largest coral reef, speared lobster, and discovered a message in a bottle (pretty common among the things that wash on shore from the atlantic ocean). Β The message in the bottle was a beautiful love note with words so touching I couldn’t help but let a tear fall from my face. The letter ended with one very powerful statement “….the only girl I’ll ever ask.” As I turned around to call my boyfriend over to read the letter, I found him on one knee with a ring in his hand…

I’m engaged. And I could not be happier. I feel so lucky to get to spend the rest of my life with such a thoughtful, loving man.

Newly Engaged

The message in a bottle.

The ring!

And to my beloved fiance you’ll never really know

I love you.

The vacation was much needed (and clearly very exciting), but I was eager to get back to work on my baby, Honey Bee Invites. I’ve got so many things moving that stress seems to be taking over my life this week. And when stress decides to do this, or when I let stress do this, I can’t help but think of Β a quote by author Douglas Pagels.

Some of the secret joys of living are not found by rushing from point A to point B, but by inventing some imaginary letters along the way.

I love this quote. It’s honest and humorous, and it reminds me to take one step at a time and enjoy the journey (stress and all).

xo

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 3:11 am

    Oh wow! JUST engaged! That’s such a sweet proposal story. Good luck with all the planning — it’s so much fun. I’m sure your invitations will be beautiful!

    • October 1, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thank you for your kind words! I plan on posting about some of the planning..whenever we get started, but we haven’t set a date yet. Thanks again!!

  2. October 1, 2010 3:12 am

    oh yeah, and congratulations! or best wishes or whatever you’re supposed to say πŸ™‚

  3. Christine permalink
    October 1, 2010 11:55 am

    Such a sweet story! Take a month before you jump into wedding planning-best advice I got!

    • October 2, 2010 12:12 am

      Thank you! I will take your advice! It actually may be the holidays before I can even begin to think about the planning!

  4. October 1, 2010 7:17 pm

    Coongratulations! You both make a beautiful couple. Best wishes for the planning process.

  5. kelli permalink
    October 3, 2010 10:56 pm

    Beautiful quote and post. Congratulations sweetest friend. Don’t stress, enjoy the moment and let it sink in for a while. Love love love.

  6. Nazli permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:07 pm

    I ❀ this quote. Lately I feel completely wound up and like I've run myself into the ground- this helps more than you know πŸ™‚ Reminded me to…breathe!

  7. Katy P permalink
    October 6, 2010 2:12 am

    Congratulations!!! So happy for you and the ring looks beautiful! Enjoy being engaged!!!!

  8. Bud permalink
    October 7, 2010 7:07 pm

    This is a wonderful story! The photos and thoughts on this site are beautiful as well!

  9. October 12, 2010 3:02 am

    Thank you! I am needless to say, very excited! I am also so lucky to have such great friends & family.

  10. October 13, 2010 5:38 pm

    Congratulations! That is one of the sweetest, most thoughtful proposals I’ve ever heard of! So happy for you πŸ™‚

  11. October 17, 2010 11:07 pm

    aw this is soooo sweet! looks like a good time – and love that handwritten note. πŸ™‚

  12. October 20, 2010 4:12 am

    What a wonderful story! Congrats to you!

  13. KStrate permalink
    October 25, 2010 1:24 pm

    Congratulations, sweet girl!!! That’s so awesome!!!! Looks like you had an amazing trip!! So happy for you!

  14. October 29, 2010 3:09 am

    Hi, you don’t know me but i do read you! Cheers from Dominican Republic. Such a creative way to ask you to marry him.

Leave a Reply

