Skip to content

2010 comes to an end.

December 31, 2010

As 2010 comes to an end, I reflect on the past year and all that has taken place. It is crazy to think how much has changed in just 365 days. It’s been incredible, thrilling, scary and amazing….is that possible?

At the beginning of 2010 I set some serious goals…

  • Follow my dream wholeheartedly
  • Start a blog about it
  • Quit my stressful, overworking day job

And now, here I am….working on Honey Bee Invites stuff in my studio, blogging about the past year, and free of my stressful, endless-hours day job. Wow. Really? I still pinch myself every now and then.  Partly just to be sure I’m not dreaming and partly to make sure I am here, in the present, living, breathing and enjoying each moment. Life is incredible and this past year has proved it to me yet again.

I won’t pretend that this past year has been easy. It hasn’t. For those of you that don’t know, I started my own business, Honey Bee Invites, in 2009. At the time I wasn’t really sure the direction I wanted the business to go, so in early 2010 I did some branding exercises and made concrete decisions about HBI.  It was certainly no easy feat…there were many sleepless nights, tears shed and days when I just wanted to pull my hair out, but NOW there’s clarity.  I can actually envision the next few years for HBI and when I do I see FIREWORKS! It’s amazing. It puts the biggest smile on my face (I wish you could see me right now).

My mom, who is a bucket full of wisdom, always reminds me that I DID THIS. I think in gereral we all like to be humble and of course grateful for all the help we’ve received, but at the end of the day (or year in this case) we’re the creators. We build our own destiny.  We made this past year happen and if your year was anything like mine, you should be happy, or better yet, ecstatic.

Here’s to 2011…

xo

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 4:28 am

    I hope you are able to keep this passion and fierce energy alive. Your journey is inspiring!

Trackbacks

  1. 2011 Goals- free printable!! « The Secret Life of Invites
  2. 2011 Goals- free printable!! | The Secret Life of Invites

Leave a Reply

